PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE SCHOOL DIVISION Section A: Foundations and Basic Commitments



File AA-E1

ORDER OF THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION RE: PROPOSAL TO FORM THE PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 24

Under authority vested in me under subsection (1) of section 437 of *The Public Schools Act*, I hereby approve the form of the **proposal** of The School Divisions Boundaries Commission **for the establishment** of a school division to be styled and known as "The Portage Ia Prairie School Division No. 24."

The said proposed school division shall include the following school districts, each of which shall be included in a ward as hereinafter designated:

- Ward 1 The School District of Portage la Prairie No. 10
- Ward 2 The School District of Burnside No. 24; The School District of Edwin No. 735; The School District of Gainsborough No. 1941; The School District of Hood No. 1381; The School District of Kelvin No. 1347; The School District of Layland No. 2090; The School District of Mount Pleasant No. 50; The School District of Overhill No. 2084; The School District of Poplar Bluff No. 734; The School District of Ridge Road No. 730; and the School District of Salem No. 623.
- Ward 3 The School District of Beaconsfield No. 54; The School District of Belle Plain No. 46; The School District of Connor No. 476; The School District of Dale No. 705; The School District of Delta Beach No. 1810; The School District of Dundonald No. 1322; The School District of East Prospect No. 111; The School District of Euclid No. 197; The School District of Flee Island No. 527; The School District of Longburn No. 93; The School District of Minnetonka No. 659; The School District of Oakland No. 57; The School District of Portage Creek No. 505; The School District of Rob Roy No. 1324; The School District of Rosegrove No. 2216; The School District of West Oakland No. 110; and The School District of West Prospect No. 112.
- Ward 4 The School District of Belcourt No. 1094; The School District of Brennan No. 2255; The School District of Cochrane No. 43; The School District of Curtis No. 1187; The School District of East Poplar Point No. 15; the School District of High Bluff Village No. 771; The School District of Nairn No. 42; The School District of the North High Bluff No. 23; The School District of Old High Bluff No. 13 and The School District of West Poplar Point No. 12.
- Ward 5 The School District of Beautiful Valley No. 924; The School District of Elm River No. 622; The School District of Fortier No. 721; The School District of Ingleside No. 831; The School District of Mill Creek No. 929 and The School District of Oakville 655.

AA-E1



File AA-E1

The number of trustees in the said division to be elected from each of the said wards shall be as follows:

Ward 1 -5 trustees; Ward 2 -1 trustee; Ward 3 -1 trustee; Ward 4 -1 trustee; Ward 5 -1 trustee.

I hereby fix Friday, the 27th of February, 1959, as the date on which the proposal shall be submitted to a vote of the resident electors of the proposed school division with advance polls on the following days:

Monday, the 23rd of February, 1959, Tuesday, the 24th of February, 1959, Wednesday, the 25th day of February 1959.

I hereby appoint Mr. Keith Stewart, c/o: Keith Stewart Agencies, Portage la Prairie, as returning officer to take the vote on the proposal, and if the school division is established, to take the vote on the first election of trustees.

Dated this 14th day of January, 1959.

"Stewart E. McLean" Minister of Education