## PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE SCHOOL DIVISION Section A: Foundations and Basic Commitments



File AA-E2

## ORDER OF THE MINISTER TO ESTABLISH THE PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 24

WHERAS subsection (1) of section 435 of *The Public Schools Act* provides as follows:

"435 (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, but subject as in this Part provided, the Minister may, by his written order, establish school divisions."

AND WHEREAS subsection (1) of section 436 of *The Public Schools Act* provides as follows:

"436 (1) Subject as in this Part otherwise provided, the Minister shall not establish a school division unless a majority of the resident electors in the proposed division who vote on the proposal to establish the division vote in favor thereof."

AND WHEREAS subsection (1) of section 442 of *The Public Schools Act* provides as follows:

"442 (1) Where the result of the vote is favorable to the establishment of the proposed division, the Minister, by his written order, may establish the division in accordance with the proposal."

AND WHEREAS a majority of the resident electors who voted on a proposal to establish the Portage la Prairie School Division No. 24 have voted in favor thereof;

AND WHEREAS it is deemed desirable and in the public interest to establish the division in accordance with the proposal;

THEREFORE, under and by virtue of authority vested in me by subsection (1) of section 442 of *The Public Schools Act*, I do hereby order:

- 1. THAT a school division be established on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of April 1959, to be styled and known as The Portage la Prairie School Division No. 24 comprising all the lands that may from time to time be included in the school districts named in section 2 hereof:
- 2. THAT the division be divided into 5 wards which shall be comprised of the lands in the school districts as set out in the following table:



File AA-E2

## **TABLE**

- Ward 1 The School District of Portage la Prairie No. 10
- Ward 2 The School District of Burnside No. 24; The School District of Edwin No. 735; The School District of Gainsborough No. 1941; The School District of Hood No. 1381; The School District of Kelvin No. 1347; The School District of Layland No. 2090; The School District of Mount Pleasant No. 50; The School District of Overhill No. 2084; The School District of Poplar Bluff No. 734; The School District of Ridge Road No. 730 and the School District of Salem No. 623.
- Ward 3 The School District of Beaconsfield No. 54; The School District of Belle Plain No. 46; The School District of Connor No. 476; The School District of Dale No. 705; The School District of Delta Beach No. 1810; The School District of Dundonald No. 1322; The School District of East Prospect No. 111; The School District of Euclid No. 197; The School District of Flee Island No. 527; The School District of Longburn No. 93; The School District of Minnetonka No. 659; The School District of Oakland No. 57; The School District of Portage Creek No. 505; The School District of Rob Roy No. 1324; The School District of Rosegrove No. 2216; The School District of West Oakland No. 110 and the School District of West Prospect No. 112.
- Ward 4 The School District of Belcourt No. 1694; The School District of Brennan No. 2255; The School District of Cochrane No. 43; The School District of Curtis No. 1187, The School District of East Poplar Point No. 15, The School District of High Bluff Village No. 771; The School District of Nairn No. 42; The School District of North High Bluff No. 23, the School District of Old High Bluff No.13, and The School District of West Poplar Point No. 12.
- Ward 5 The School District of Beautiful Valley No. 924; The School District of Elm River No. 622; The School District of Fortier No. 741; The School District of Ingleside No. 831; The School District of Mill Creek No. 929 and the School District of Oakville No. 655.
- 3. THAT the number of trustees in the said division to be elected from each of the said wards as follows:
  - Ward 1 -5 trustees; Ward 2 -1 trustee; Ward 3 -1 trustee; Ward 4 -1 trustee; Ward 5 -1 trustee.

Dated this 28th day of February 1959.

"Stewart E. McLean" Minister of Education